What colors will babies be?

Lisa

Hatchling
I have been a Linnie & Caique owner for about 13 yrs. In the past I have owned cockatiels and parakeets as well so I do have bird experience however I have no experience breeding. I recently purchased a breeding pair of linnies off of Craigslist. Now that I have them I have been studying everything I can find about breeding,genetics and pairing,diet etc… mostly on this wonderful forum and equally fantastic Eddie’s Aviary website. I now realize Craigslist was not the best place to acquire breeding stock! I know nothing about their parents and the birds are not banded. I was told they are wonderful parents. The female is cobalt and the male is dark green with grey wing mutation sf I think. From the reading I’ve done this seems to be an ok pairing. I was told they produce turquoise and olive babies but couldn’t they also produce cobalt and dark green? I have read the genetics info many times but feel quite overwhelmed still. I have not been able to figure out the genetics calculator. I am wondering if it is possible to know the colors of babies they are able to reproduce without knowing anything about their parents. Thank you in advance!!23394101-1DE5-42D9-9863-AEB37E83563D.jpeg561D65CB-6BC2-497A-900E-00B438212E40.jpeg270037FD-2482-454B-AE8C-0B6A61DEC380.jpeg

Last edited:

LinnieGirl

Staff member
A sf gw d green male x cobalt female can produce sf gw and normal non gw males and females. Colors could include green, d green, and olive. If the male is split to turquoise which most green series are in the US, they could also produce turquoise, cobalt or mauve. If the male is also split to ino, they could produce Lutino or creamino females and males split to ino.

Morgan

Hatchling
You have a veritable Easter egg basket there! Seems like a good breeding pair, just keep in mind their ages. Especially as females get older egg binding can become a more serious issue. Be sure they have plenty of calcium!